Anything Worth Doing…

a wargaming blog (plus some other stuff)

The Synergy Drug

Leave a comment

I played Epic Vyros last night against one of our resident Trollblood players, and all I have to say is, yes, synergy is a thing. It really really is.

My list was made up at the last minute because we were playing at 35 points rather than 50 (I prefer the bigger games) and included…

Houseguard Halberdiers 2

Epic Vyros, Incissar of the Dawnguard
Banshee
Apsis
Griffon
Griffon

Houseguard Halberdiers
Halberdier Officer and Standard

Arcanist
Arcanist
Mage Hunter Assassin
Epic Eiryss, Angel of Retribution
Lanyssa Ryssyll, Nyss Sorceress

We played the scenario with the zone and flag (not that was relevant), and my opponent had Mr World Ender, Mulg, some Fen Blades plus supporting staff. A nice little brick of trolls with a massive side of jamming Fen Blades down your throat.
My first lesson learnt was that if I play and space the Halberdiers properly, they actually work. This might seem obvious, but using these guys in waves ensured they kept the Fen Blades honest all game. And combined with the feat, one of the Halberdiers managed to nicely tie up four Fen Blades and prevent them from striking deeper into the unit.

The second lesson, and this is really important, the Synergy spell rocks! Even with a very mild +3 synergy bonus, a Griffon put a massive dent in Mulg. I can see why multiple Griffons is a popular setup for Vyros, and I think I’m going to have to pick up some more, and possibly another Apsis.

Third lesson, that feat of Vyros’ is as annoying as hell. In this game my poor opponent had no problem killing my stuff, but every time he did, I would block a charge lane or engage more models. Crazy stuff. Then to cap it all, Vyros was the last model to move from his feat and he gained an almost perfect charge lane to Madrak as a result.

that feat of Vyros’ is as annoying as hell

Colour this Retribution player impressed.

So what next? Well more games obviously. At 35 points I like this list and I like the inclusion of the Banshee as a heavy hitter and as a bit of additional board control. However it is apparent that Vyros does not have the focus to fuel his myrmidons and support infantry at the same time, so at 50 points I will drop the second infantry unit (the Invictors).

Looks like I need to do some shopping and paint some robots. Damn it!

Leave a Reply

