Anything Worth Doing…

a wargaming blog (plus some other stuff)

Why, Hello 2014

Leave a comment

Its New Year Resolution time, and apart from the easy resolutions like “always play painted models” and “paint what you buy” (actually, that one we’ll skip); it is a good time to reflect on my hobby and what I want to do in the coming year.

Playing more games is obvious, but as any regular reader of this blog will have figured out by now, that’s easier said than done. So my aim, will be to fully understand one or two warcasters in the Retribution of Scyrah. Unsurprisingly, I will start with Adeptis Rahn, and leaves two questions. Theme or not? And two Phoenixes or one? These are all questions I have already answered, but I will talk about in a later post, so you are going to have to wait. Sorry.

Magister2My first objective of 2014 is to finish the models I started last year. Beyond that, my Retribution army is all but completed, at least until Warmachine Vengeance comes out in March. My second House Shyeel Magister is painted and a second Phoenix (built from the Manticore from the Battlebox) is next on the list. This myrmidon will be interesting because I have added some fire effects to the base and it will be the first time I have tried painting object source lighting on a miniature.

I suspect, despite the fact I have already ordered a Houseguard Thane, the (built and primed) Heavy Rifle Team might not get painted particularly quickly, although I’m pretty sure they will be done before Nayl.

My first objective of 2014 is to finish the models I started last year

As for other resolutions for 2014, I would really like to get a third Warmachine faction built and (hope you are sitting down) played. Although I still need to decide the basing scheme for my Cyriss stuff, I have Syntherion and one of the Heavy Vectors built, and I have started cleaning up a second Vector, so I have at least started. Still, lots of work to do.

As part of the ‘play more games’ thing I also want to get to a few more Warmachine tournaments this year. Probably unlikely but I will see what the family lets me get away with. There are a few good candidates in Sweden, however it is a very big country so what ever event I manage to sign out for, there is going to be some travelling involved. Still, it is a good excuse to see more of this country.

And other games? Warhammer 40000 has taken a bit of a back seat in the last 12 months, so it is unlikely my Eldar are going to be getting an reinforcements soon. This said, I really enjoyed breaking out my Tau last year so I might get some games with them in. Unfortunately the Infinity project is on hold for now because of time constraints, but I will get back to it. Honest.

And is there anything else? Well, no. Apart from keeping this blog updated, ideally every week, I think it is probably a good idea to be a bit light on the New Year commitments at this stage. Considering my 2013 mission to learn more Swedish went flying out of the (office) window quite early last year, this seems safest.

Hope you all had a great New Years, and I wish you all the very best for 2014!

Leave a Reply

